Louisiana  |  Family Law

question bubble
4/09/03, 1:12 pm

Legal Question


Which State has Jurisdiction

My Question is rather long but needed , I hope that your answer will be forthcoming . I was Divorced in 1988 , my wife and I moved from Louisiana to Michigan with our 9month old son in 1987 .she and our son lived with me for 3 months in Michigan , then she decided to leave me andreturn with our son back south . about 4 weeks later she toldme on the phone that she wanted a divorce . I filed for divorce two weeks later in Michigan , we were divorced in Jan. 1988 . I remained a resident of Michigan for 5 years from the time her and my son left mein 87'' . In March 2001 , I received sole legal and sole physical custody of our son who was 14at the time , he is now almost 17 , I was again awarded a judgement in Michigan , So my question is , which state wouldhave jurisdiction over divorce and custody ? My son was born in Louisiana , I was married in Louisiana ,and after a year as a resident of Michigan was granteda divorce judgement ( there was also a default judgement against herfor not appearing in court to contest the divorce )


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search