Louisiana | Family Law
Legal Question
My wife filed for a divorce and I'm waiting for the papers to be served. If I purchase something once receiving the papers is it considered joint property?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Adam Lambert |
While the community still legally exists up until the day the divorce judgment is signed, on the day that divorce judgment is obtained, the Judge will almost certainly dissolve the community retroactively to the date of filing. So, the answer is it is community property at the time you purchase it, but it probably won't be community property after the Judge grants the divorce. |
Top Attorneys in LA
Pizzolatto Law Office
Lake Charles, LA
Questions Answered: 3157
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-14
Mandie Seale Lucas
Ventress, LA
Questions Answered: 1605
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Andrew M. Casanave
Lake Charles, LA
Questions Answered: 1357
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
The Louque Law Firm, L.L.C.
Thibodaux, LA
Questions Answered: 234
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-03-08
Steve LeBlanc, Ltd., (APLC)
Baton Rouge, LA
Questions Answered: 227
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-10-18
Vidrine Law Firm, PLC
Tucson, AZ
Questions Answered: 28
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-06
Attorney Office
Lake Charles, LA
Questions Answered: 18
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-27
Law Offices of David C. Hesser
Shreveport, LA
Questions Answered: 18
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-09-08
Alex Simanovsky & Associates, LLC
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 17
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-10-18
Ohlmeyer & Ohlmeyer
New Orleans, LA
Questions Answered: 16
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-07-11
Search Questions and Answers


