Louisiana | Civil Litigation
Legal Question
I was arressted in the state of Louisiana for shop lifting a few months ago, I am not sure of what the date is but I believe that it was in April-May, sometime around there. The police came and read me my rights, does that mean I was arressted? I got a letter in the mail today saying that I have to be in court at the end of October, I am not sure what to do. I was told that they had a month to serve me with that kind of thing and if it is longer then a month then its no longer void and that I can forget about it, is that true? I am scared and I do not know what to do, I am also scared that I will go to jail. What is the most that can happen to me? The total amount of items stolen is $34, and that's including mine and the stuff of the girl that I was caught with. She stole more then me. I was kind of pressured into it, I know that it not an excuse and I know that I did it, Im not denying that, but I do not want to go to jail. I cannot afford a lawyer and I am scared of what will happen to me.


