Louisiana  |  Civil Litigation

question bubble
1/11/07, 11:30 am

Legal Question


Vacant Property

My homeowner insurance has been canceled on the house that I own in Orleans Parish. The house was damaged by Katrina and had been gutted and boarded up. I haven't been able to secure a contractor to do repairs as I live in MD now and cannot afford to travel back and forth to LA. If my house is secured and I post no trepassing signs on the property, would I still be liable for someone being injured on the property? I doubt that I will be able to secure homeowner insurance in the immediate future and am concerned that I could be sued by someone wandering around the property.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search