Louisiana  |  Health Care Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 8/04/09, 1:52 am

I was recently married at the age of 19, I've never been married before and am learning all the legallities of being married. My parents had me covered on their health insurance all my life and told me that my health insurance would be cancelled when I got married. What I didn't know is I had to show the insurance company I got married. Well, I bought 2 prescription medications using this cancelled form of insurance. I just found out today that this is called "insurance fraud" how do i fix this and can I be punished for something I didn't know was wrong?

1 Answer


Answered on: 8/09/09, 9:08 am by Andrew Casanave

First, your parents told you that you were not on the insurance, so you knew that the card did not cover you. What you did not know is there is a criminal consequence for that.

You probably will be entitled to a court appointed lawyer for this. The pharmacy or the insurer lost money. Discuss this with your lawyer and see if (s)he can negotiate something better in exchange for you paying restitution.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Andrew M. Casanave 1032 Ryan Street Lake Charles, LA 70601

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

196 Answers given in the last few hours.

7577 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search