Louisiana | Insurance Law
Legal Question
Does a life insurance company have to pay you your policy within 30 days from the time of the claim when a loved one passes away?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Jarrett Ambeau |
La. R.S. 22:1811, gives the insurer 60 days to pay a claim for life insurance from the date of proof of death, i.e., sending the death cetificate to the company. If they do not pay in 60 days, for good cause, then you may be able to collect 8% interest from the time you presented the death certificate. I wish you well, in your time of loss. |
Top Attorneys in LA
Pizzolatto Law Office
Lake Charles, LA
Questions Answered: 3157
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-14
The Law Office of Adam S. Lambert
New Orleans, LA
Questions Answered: 1070
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
The Louque Law Firm, L.L.C.
Thibodaux, LA
Questions Answered: 234
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-03-08
Taggart Morton, L.L.C.
New Orleans, LA
Questions Answered: 84
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-06-14
Wade & Vidrine, PLC
Tucson, AZ
Questions Answered: 35
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-02-24
Vidrine Law Firm, PLC
Tucson, AZ
Questions Answered: 28
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-06
Taggart Morton, LLC
New Orleans, LA
Questions Answered: 26
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Alex Simanovsky & Associates, LLC
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 17
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-10-18
Hammond Law Firm LLC
New Orleans, LA
Questions Answered: 15
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-03
Davie & Davie, LLC
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 15
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-01-04
Search Questions and Answers


