Louisiana  |  Insurance Law

question bubble
11/11/09, 9:57 pm

Legal Question


a new orleans police officer ran in to my parked car and totalled it. the city says it will only pay me blue book value for my car, which will not cover the expense of replacing the car that I had. am i entitled fight for more money?


question bubble
11/17/09, 1:44 pm

Legal Answer


Yes and no. They are correct that they are only required by law to pay you the actual value of the car. If the cost of repairing the car is more than the value of the car, they only have to pay you the value. That being said, don't just take their word for what the car is worth. Do some research and make sure you are getting the true value of the car. Your car may have had very low miles on it, been in excellent condition, or had extras on it that made it worth more than a base model of the same car. That can sometimes yield you a little more than the original offer.

Adam Lambert

The Law Office of Adam S. Lambert 3531 Plymouth Pl. New Orleans, LA 70131

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search