Louisiana  |  Juvenile Dependency

question bubble
10/14/09, 2:31 pm

Legal Question


I changed my benifiary on my life insurance polies to my grandkids(50-50) one is 17 but the youngest is 8. How do I make sure his parents can't get it and spend it?


question bubble
10/21/09, 2:46 pm

Legal Answer


The best way is probably to make a trust and have your life policy name the trust as the beneficiary (or actually own the policy). In the trust, you can name your grandchildren as beneficiaries and also set forth the restrictions, if any, within that instrument. This way, the Trustee has some accountability to the beneficiaries and has to protect the funds for them. Thus, the parents would not be able to spend the money for their own gain.

Dustin Vidrine

Wade & Vidrine, PLC 432 N. Tucson Blvd Tucson, AZ 85716

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search