Louisiana  |  Legal Malpractice

question bubble
7/14/01, 3:17 pm

Legal Question


Abandonment

I retained a Louisiana attorney to represent me in a retirement property dispute with my ex wife. He requested and I paid in full a fee of $3000.00 at the beginning of the case. A judgement was issued on April 5, 2001. However, the case is not completed. A complication has arisen with the transfer of funds. My ex wife's attorney this week called and threatened to file a contempt charge for reasons I am unclear about. I contacted my attorney who advised me, he would write a letter to her attorney requesting information concerning the problem. I received a letter today from my attorney-a copy of a Motion and Order to withdraw as Attorney of Record. NO explanation or reasons cited. I do not owe any money. In fact, he has NEVER provided me with any type of statement describing his charges or itemizing my account. I have no idea what time or effort he has put forth. Would this possibly constitute abandonment? What are my options at this point?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search