Legal Question in Real Estate Law in Louisiana

I live in Louisiana and own an acre of land. I haven't personally checked on this property in over 35 years. My so has gone once and said it looked like someone had been living on it. I have been paying the property taxes every year. Would it be possible for someone to claim squatters rights and obtain this property?? If so what could I o?

Asked on 6/29/13, 6:28 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Adam Lambert The Law Office of Adam S. Lambert
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Yes. A squatter could obtain ownership in as few as ten years (with good faith) and in thirty years even in bad faith. You need to file an eviction immediately to evict the squatter.

Read more
6/29/13, 6:39 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Louisiana

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8785 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Real Estate and Real Property Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now