Louisiana | Wills and Trusts
11/04/09, 5:12 pm
Legal Question
What is the average cost of a small succession, involving a home and a car only. Spouse and 2 older children.
What is the average cost of a small succession, involving a home and a car only. Spouse and 2 older children.
|
Read More Answered By: James Maguire |
About $1,200.00 plus court costs. |
|
Read More Answered By: Adam Lambert |
I usually charge $1,000, plus court costs. Court costs are $225-$330 in Jefferson Parish, depending on the amount of the estate. You usually want to record the Judgment with the Conveyance Office, which will cost less than $50.
You will need to get a copy of the death certificate, a legal property description of the home, the will (if there is one), and place values on the estate (bank accounts, home, property, etc.)
If you file within 9 months of the date of death, there are no taxes due to the State, so don't let it sit too long. |
Lake Charles, LA
Questions Answered: 3157
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-14
New Orleans, LA
Questions Answered: 1070
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Thibodaux, LA
Questions Answered: 234
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-03-08
Baton Rouge, LA
Questions Answered: 227
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-10-18
New Orleans, LA
Questions Answered: 174
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-12
New Orleans, LA
Questions Answered: 65
Last Question Aswered on: 2002-04-04
New Orleans, LA
Questions Answered: 41
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-07-02
Tucson, AZ
Questions Answered: 35
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-02-24
Tucson, AZ
Questions Answered: 28
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-06
New Orleans, LA
Questions Answered: 26
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
► My mothers house is in my name only. Her will sates the house should be divided...
► My mom passed away in 2002. She had a second mortgage on the home in her name but my...
► Can only 2 children out of 5 sign to open succession or must all 5 sign? Best...
► My aunt was in a nursing home last year when she passed away. My mother was executor...
► My mother is 81 lives in Louisiana and has just recently put her home in my name...
► My husband passed away last December. In 2005 we divided the land and gave half to...
► My mother passed away intestate. I have been appointed Provisional Administrator of...
More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in Louisiana| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press