Louisiana | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
My grandmother passed away (grandfather is also deceased). She had three children, two of which are still living with kids of their own. My mother passed away many years ago. I'm pretty sure we're not in any will because the whole family is ashamed that we even exist (mother ran away from home at 16 due to abuse, her side of the family was never a part of our lives). This is a really hootie-tootie Old South-type family.
Under Louisiana law, are we entitled to any portion of the state? Is it possible our grandparents could have disinherited us or our mother?


