Louisiana  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
11/11/09, 6:11 pm

Legal Question


If a house is inherited and then sold, then is used to purchase property, is that property community property or still considered the inheritance?


question bubble
11/16/09, 7:39 pm

Legal Answer


The inheritance is just like money......the money is used to buy a house that you and your spouse live in......basically, the money used remains separate and the value of the house, less the separate part, is community.......example, $100,000 is put toward a house during your marriage, then at divorce, when the house is sold, or valued, the first $100,000 is reimbursed to the spouse who put it up.

Nick Pizzolatto, Jr.

Pizzolatto Law Office 2771 Paul White Road Lake Charles, LA 70611

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search