Louisiana  |  Workers Comp

question bubble
8/28/10, 4:16 pm

Legal Question


my neighbor was working at wal-mart when he was instructed to move a heavy pallet with a hand truck to a designated area. the supervisor was aware of my neighbor's limitations but, he was afraid of losing his job so, he moved the pallet which entailed in injuries. he filed an injury report, was seeing a doctor or doctors for treatment but, my neighbor continued to work light duty, per his doctor, he then had an appointment set at a certain time, he was at work, he had gone on his lunch break, 30 minutes. when he got back, he was accused of taking too long, now he's s been terminated and, wants wal-mart to pay him workers comp. the gentleman has taken his luch break at a later time than he was suppose to, and now he's been accused of taking too much time on his lunch break. was his termination justified or unjustified? Thanks for your help !


question bubble
9/02/10, 4:27 pm

Legal Answer


Louisiana is a right to hotel, right to fire state so employers don't have to have a reason. As he was injured at work, he is entitled to workers compensation for any medical bills or lasting limitations. He should seek the advice of a workers compensation attorney in the area.

Martha Amanda Mandi Lucas

Mandie Seale Lucas 14418 Patin Dyke Road Ventress, LA 70783

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search