Maine  |  Construction Law

question bubble
11/06/09, 5:31 pm

Legal Question


I am having my house built in Maine and my contractor has breeched the contract. First floor finished was based on a six month timeline that expired on June 30, 2009. The house is not weather tight yet and we're still waiting on three windows. He withdrew 85% of our construction loan and doesn't return calls, emails, text messages. The bank is on him weekly and though we have seen minimal progress ( sheetrock and insulation delivered) it doesn't seem to cut the mustard anymore.

What are my options at this point?


question bubble
11/11/09, 5:49 pm

Legal Answer


First you need to look at the contract to see what it provides for in case of a breach. Generally with contracts there are a few options at this point, but you will need to take some action soon to preserve your rights and mitigate your damages. Without more information, I can't be more specific. You should meet with an attorney about this, as I assume there is considerable money at stake.

Feel free to call my office to discuss this in more detail.

Elliott Teel

Law Office of Elliott R. Teel, P.A. 142 High St., Suite 219 Portland, ME 04101

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search