Maine  |  DUI Law

question bubble
4/17/09, 2:01 pm

Legal Question


Can I apeal?

I was charged with OUI and told that since it was not a jail able offence that the state would not provide me with counsel. I told the court that I could not afford a Lawyer and they told me that I was allowed to defend myself. According to article eight in the bill of rights (the accused shall enjoy the right to have the assistance of counsel for his defense.) which I did not have. I believe that my rights have been violated and I would like to find out what I can do about it.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search