Maine  |  DUI Law

question bubble
9/25/08, 10:07 pm

Legal Question


Dui

I was arrested for OUI, speeding, Driving while suspended in Maine in 1989. I was in the Navy, went through classes and court and thought all was taken care of. I received another DUI in Indiana 1998 and had my license wiped clean in indiana. When I went to renew my license in 2006 in Indiana they told me I could not renew because I missed a court appearance in Maine, still needed to pay some fines, and take a class. Since then I have paid fines and have been trying to dig up all documents associated with this mess almost 20 years ago. I even contacted the Navy for all of their documents. I need to resolve this in Maine so I can renew my license in Indiana. my Indiana license is valid, but I cannot renew it until I have satisfied Maine. Is there a statute of limitations? Should I just get a lawyer? I have paid around 600.00 already and they are asking for more in addition to other requirements.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search