Maine  |  Entertainment Law

question bubble
11/05/09, 10:51 pm

Legal Question


Very recently I was admitted to a hospital psychiatric ward as a crisis patient for several weeks, being something like the fifth time. Another writer suggested via email that I compose a narrative essay recounting the experience, as a sort of prompted excessive. It would involve others, unfortunately, otherwise the structure of the story would become incoherently paced.

My question is, would it contradict the law to recount such a story in print, when it involves real persons, persons who will remain nameless, but some who were also patients of the same hospital? Or is it acceptable? So long as it is clear of slander, and their private lives are protected through anonymity and restraint? Unfortunately, it would be impossible to contact these particular individuals owing to the fact I am not personally acquainted, baring all prospect of soliciting their consent.


question bubble
11/11/09, 10:55 am

Legal Answer


It depends on what you want to do with the story. Before publishing it in any way (including online) you should meet with an attorney. You should be able to do this, but how you do it will be important so that you don't open yourself to liability from anyone.

Elliott Teel

Law Office of Elliott R. Teel, P.A. 142 High St., Suite 219 Portland, ME 04101

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search