Maine | Medical Malpractice
Legal Question
My brother got a septic infection from dirty medical equipment used to perform a prostate biopsy,
does he have any legal recourse?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: David Marchese |
You ask a question that requires a very long and involved answer, as does any question about liability/fault in a medical malpractice case like this. The short answer is that it depends. Medical negligence must be shown. While it may appear obvious that someone is at fault, that is not always the case after a thorough investigation and after obtaining expert medical opinion(s). Consequently, if you want to look into this further you will have to speak with me or another attorney who practices in the area of medical negligence. Also, regardless of an action to get money to compensate your brother for damages, you can file a grievance with the medical licensing board in charge of the type of practitioner that you believe caused the infection. You will have to call the Department of Professional and Financial Regulation and ask for the appropriate board, or you could go on the State of Maine government web site and find it. Thank you for your inquiry and good luck. Feel free to respond to me for a consultation. |
Top Attorneys in ME
Legal Consultant
Bangalore,
Questions Answered: 421
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Qua, Hall, Harvey & Walsh
Chelmsford, MA
Questions Answered: 139
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-29
Marchese Injury Law, P.A.
Portland, ME
Questions Answered: 133
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-30
Turgeon & Associates
Haverhill, MA
Questions Answered: 56
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-19
Law Offices of Stephen R. Fine
Manchester, NH
Questions Answered: 20
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-16
Lawsuit Financial Corporation
Southfield, MI
Questions Answered: 18
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-04-13
Alex Simanovsky & Associates, LLC
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 17
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-10-18
Rosenfeld Injury Lawyers
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
Search Questions and Answers


