Maine | Medical Malpractice
10/10/07, 1:57 pm
Legal Question
who can file a malpritice suit
can a sister or a brother file a medical malpritice suit or do her kids have to do it
who can file a malpritice suit
can a sister or a brother file a medical malpritice suit or do her kids have to do it
|
Read More Answered By: David Marchese |
Re: who can file a malpritice suit Thank you for your inquiry, however, I don't understand your question. If your question is "Can a medical malpractice case be filed on behalf of of the injured party by a sibling or a child ?" the answer to both parts of this question is generally "no". However, if the injured person is alive and unable to make or communicate their own decisions, or if they are deceased, then court authority may be obtained by an adult (either a sibling or a child of the injured party). Then they would have the ability to pursue the case on behalf of the injured party. The law imposes a 3 year deadline in medical malpractice cases, and a 2 year deadline in wrongful death cases, whichever is shorter. The time period begins on the date of injury. If suit is not filed within the allowed period, then you are prohibited from ever filing it, except under limited conditions. I hope that helps. Please let me know if I may be of any further assistance. |
Chelmsford, MA
Questions Answered: 139
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-29
Portland, ME
Questions Answered: 133
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-30
Haverhill, MA
Questions Answered: 56
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-19
Manchester, NH
Questions Answered: 20
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-16
Southfield, MI
Questions Answered: 18
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-04-13
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 17
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-10-18
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
► Methadone my father went to the methadone clinic every morning for his daily dose to...
► Medical malpractice i had a routine c-section and during the procedure my pelvis was...
► Child given wrong vaccine I brought my child to the doctor for her 5 year well-child...
► Medical records of deceased mother My mother passed away quite suddenly of breast...
► Who can bring on a claim of medical malpractice Have a dieing parent who was found...
► Where do I start? I just had surgery to remove a cyst and ovary, could not be done...
► Misdiagnosis My husband went to an emergency room on a Sunday night with severe...
More Medical Malpractice Law questions and answers in Maine| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press