Maine  |  Personal Injury

question bubble
2/12/09, 2:07 pm

Legal Question


defamation newspaper

Recently in a local newspaper under police notes my name was printed stating that I was summonsed for theft by unauthorized taking or transfer. This is false information. I was part of an investigation but was never charged nor summonsed. I recieved no paperwork of sort. I notified the police dept and they said they were sorry for the error and made the correction in their files. I almost lost my job. I had to get a letter from the police dept stating that what was printed in the paper was false and that I was not being charged with anything. Can I file charges against the police dept? What should I do?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search