Maryland  |  Criminal Law

question bubble
7/12/10, 3:04 pm

Legal Question


I have to go to court on August 6th, 2010 for a shop lifting charge.....I am a Bi-Polar & a manic depressant.......my husband has had a major stroke, I had to resign from my job to be his care-giver, & when this incident happened on May 26th 2010 I had been without my 5 anti-deprassants since the the last week of February 2010...NO HEALTH OR PRESCRIPTION INSURANCE to be able to get my medicines. I am a totally mentally not stable person & I did this terrible thing like I was in another person's body......it was less than $16.00.....the other person pressed charges & the officer who came (is a friend) tried to talk to him over & over to drop the charges....this man says he is a christian man(& he is), but he told a another friend that called him on my behalf (another police officer) that he would see what happens in court. I have so-o-o-o much I am carrying (burdens) on myself right now. There are ALOT of things that I just can not bring out in a court room of people to hear about myself. My question is: Is it ever possible for a person to be able to request to meet with the judge a few days before going to court to explain EVERYTHING that is personal, private, & confidential about myself....my past ( i was sexually molested from the ages of 9-12) & hid it so deep that when I went into counseling 8 years ago, I was a TOTALLY MESS & so much had to come out for me to heal & forgive .....the same sernario happened 8 years ago as it happened on this May 26th.....that is when my husband had his first major stroke & I had to stop working for a year....again, NO MEDICAL OR PRESCRIPTION INSURANCE, & went a long time without my medicines & was out of control....that is when I first went into counseling for some time. I went back today to the Health Department to get help, counseling, to see a psychiatrist, & get back on my anti-depressants. I start working with a psychiatrist this Friday (July 16th, 2010) so she can get me back on my meds., immediately, & then after 2-3 sessions with her, I will start my sessions with a counselour. You see, there is so-o-o-o- much the judge needs to know about me....that I just CAN NOT bring up in a public court room. So, my question, again, is: Is it possible for myself to request to talk to the judge a few days before I go to court? Should I wait until that day to be ask if I want a Public Defender (because I CAN NOT afford a private lawyer)? Should I try to represent myself? Right now I am scared to death, full of worry, & so full of fear!!!!! PLEASE, PLEASE, I would so deeply appreciate it if one of your lawyers could e-mail me back with some correct answers. Again, PLEASE, PLEASE I NEED YOUR HELP!!!!!! Please give me some answers to my questions, PLEASE!!!!! Thank you from the deepest part of my heart....God Bless!!! pwmsunflower@aol.com Username: Pam


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search