Maryland  |  Construction Law

question bubble
11/25/02, 9:43 pm

Legal Question


Rights of a minority stockholder in a family owned corporation

A corporation is owned by 4 family members (parents & children). Each own a different percentage of stock. One of the stockholders die and the spouse gains those shares. Now one of the minority stockholders wants to continue to run the business & be the sole stockholder. If the other minority stockholder does not agree with business transfer, what are their rights.


question bubble
11/26/02, 9:37 am

Legal Answer


Re: Rights of a minority stockholder in a family owned corporation

The first question when addressing issues of shareholder rights in a small corporation is whether there is any "shareholder agreement" or other contractual arrangements that will apply. Frequently, owners of small businesses will enter into "shareholder" agreements that will specifically identify the rights of the parties in circumstances such as those you have described (and such agreements are recommended as a standard practice by attoneys who set up corporations). If such agreement exists, then it must be reviewed carefully (probably with legal counsel) to determine your rights.

If there is no shareholder agreement or other contract governing the rights of shareholders, then it may be that a group comprising the majority of shares can take virtually complete control of the corporation (sometimes to the detrminent of minority shareholders).

If there is any significant financial issue at stake, it would make sense to contact an attorney as soon as possible. Frequently in such situations, there is need for emergency legal actions to be undertaken in order to preserve assets or otherwise maintain the status quo while the dispute is resolved.

I would be happy to chat briefly with you to help determine whether you should hire counsel immediately. Please feel free to contact me at:

Lawrence R. Holzman, Esq.

Joseph, Greenwald & Laake, P.A.

6404 Ivy Lane, Suite 400

Greenbelt, MD 20770

(301) 220-2200

fax (301) 220-1214

Lawrence Holzman

Joseph, Greenwald & Laake, P.A. 6404 Ivy Lane, Suite 400 Greenbelt, MD 20770

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/26/02, 3:49 pm

Legal Answer


Re: Rights of a minority stockholder in a family owned corporation

The best place to start is to review all of the corporate governance documents applicable to the corporation you reference. Documents such as the corporate bylaws, buy-sell agreements, and/or other shareholder agreements (presumably, if collectively drafted by an attorney) should provide guidance with regard to the specific issues you mention. Second, I would consider consulting an attorney to aid you in your review of the documents and possible strategy(ies) as it is not uncommon in these types of situations for minority shareholders, to their detriment, to be "frozen out" of corporate affairs.

Robert Damalouji

The Damalouji Law Firm, L.L.C. 135 West Dares Beach Rd. Suite 209A Prince Frederick, MD 20678

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/26/02, 9:23 pm

Legal Answer


Re: Rights of a minority stockholder in a family owned corporation

Your strategy and tactics vary considerably based on an almost infinite number of variables. The corporate documents have much to bear upon your matter; however, such documents are typically not well drafted for small capital corporations. Much may be left unguided by corporate agreements with the shareholders. Minority shareholders taking control through tacit (i.e., informal agreement) is typical. As an adversely affected minority shareholder, you may have several strategies to employ. Consultation with an attorney is HIGHLY advised, do not delay as actions may be taken by the corporation that are not easily overcome.

Family owned corporations often encounter disputes that can rival the bitterness of corporate giants. Do not leave your interests unprotected.

G. Joseph Holthaus III, Esq.

(410) 799-9002

(410) 619-5918 (voicemail)

G. Joseph Holthaus III

Law Offices of G. Joseph Holthaus 2255 Daniels Road Ellicott City, MD 21043

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search