Maryland  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
2/21/06, 1:59 pm

Legal Question


Being sued 10 years later.

Please help. I bought a home in 1994 and was given a $4400 loan by Howard County for a down payment. In 1996, the house was forclosed on and sold at auction. 6 years later (2002), I get a letter from the Country stating that I owed $2,000 plus in intrest and fees as well as the $4,400. I called and told them I didn't own the property any longer and it was sold at auction. Was told that it would be taken care of. Now 4 years later (2006), I get a sumens notice. They are sueing me for over $7,000. I called and talked to them, now they are willing to go back to the 2002 notice and take $6100 over 5 years. Isn't there limit on the number of years you can be sued for something like this? What should I do?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search