Maryland  |  Construction Law

question bubble
8/26/02, 9:52 pm

Legal Question


Swimming Pool not built to contracted size

I recently had an in-ground pool constructed by a top rated company. After completion, I discovered the pool was 2 feet narrower than was stated in our contract. The excavagator apparently made the error and the pool general contractor never checked or even visited the site during the whole project. The builder wants to just pay me for the difference in square footage for what was actually built vs what was agreed upon. What are my options? I want the pool I paid for but re-constructing doesn't seem realistic.


question bubble
8/27/02, 10:14 am

Legal Answer


Re: Swimming Pool not built to contracted size

Based on your synopsis of the matter, it would seem that the appropriate measure of damages for this breach of contract action would be the difference between the value of the pool as built vs. contract price of the pool you requested. This sounds similar to what your builder is offering you, but it is unclear as to the builder's pricing methods (i.e., what value the builder may put on square footage as opposed to total "as built" value of the pool).

Robert Damalouji

The Damalouji Law Firm, L.L.C. 135 West Dares Beach Rd. Suite 209A Prince Frederick, MD 20678

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
8/29/02, 8:09 pm

Legal Answer


Re: Swimming Pool not built to contracted size

Two feet less may make a difference as to the project. Where the breach is material or substantial then you could possibly seek to rescind the contract. I guess it all amounts to as to arrangements that can be negotiated with the builder as there is an obvious default.

G. Joseph Holthaus, III, Esq.

(410) 799-9002

gjholtattorney@yahoo.com

G. Joseph Holthaus III

Law Offices of G. Joseph Holthaus 2255 Daniels Road Ellicott City, MD 21043

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search