Maryland  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
1/23/06, 3:49 pm

Legal Question


Transfer of Property

My Grandfather owns land in Ocean City, MD. He lived in New Jersey and died in 1993. I live in the house next door to the house my grandfather lived in and still receive mail pertaining to the property. In 2001, I received a letter from an attorney that the land was being sold due to back taxes and he could pay the taxes if he wanted to keep the land. After visiting OC MD, I paid the back taxes and have continued to pay the annual taxes on the property. My Grandfathers will did not mention this property. He had 2 sons (my father and Uncle - each of whom are deceased). They each had 2 children. The will just says that he orders the executor to sell and convert the remainder of his estate, both real and personal into cash and bequeath it to his two sons. My question is, can this property be sold or transfer name and if so does it then get divided among the 4 remaining heirs? and what about the money spent to save it from being sold at a tax sale?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search