Maryland | Elder Law
7/12/10, 3:37 pm
Legal Question
Is it true, a person that has poa, ceases once the person the poa is over, dies?
Is it true, a person that has poa, ceases once the person the poa is over, dies?
|
Read More Answered By: G. Joseph Holthaus III |
A power of attorney is void of effect when the person who granted the power has died.
In order to provide power over an estate, the person who dies needs to appoint a personal representative or an intestate estate can be opened where a last will and testament has not been made. An intestate estate applies where a last will and testament was not made by the decedent.
Transfers made in behalf of an estate after a person's death through a power of attorney can be set aside.
Contact me should you require assistance with probate whether or not the decedent had a last will and testament. |
|
Read More Answered By: Richard Abraham |
Yes. The POA ceases operation once the Grantor dies. However, the agent(s) named in the document must have actual notice.
An example is as follows: Jim is Carl's Attorney in Fact under Carl's POA. Carl dies and Jim has no notice for 5 days. Jim continues to pay bills etc. during the 5 days Those payments should be allowed as Jim had no notice of Carl's death.
|
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 1946
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Bethesda, MD
Questions Answered: 577
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Crownsville, MD
Questions Answered: 428
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Morristown, NJ
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-13
Leesburg, VA
Questions Answered: 95
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-20
Towson, MD
Questions Answered: 93
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-11-07
Washington, Dc, DC
Questions Answered: 79
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-09-25
Upper Marlboro, MD
Questions Answered: 1
Last Question Aswered on: 2002-01-21
Hanover, PA
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
Alexandria, VA
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
► My sister has been taking advantage of our father's finances. I was appointed...
► What''s the difference between a general power of attorney and a durable power of...
► Does a DOA have the authority to dictate what the Principal can and cannot do with...
► My mother in law is in nursing home and we just sold her house and now have over...
► Adding names on deed my brother has poa for fathers financial and i have poa for...
► Power of attorney does giving a person power of attorney prevent me from selling my...
► Contract construction schedule how long do i have to stay on a jobsite and continue...
More Elder Law questions and answers in Maryland| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press