Maryland | Administrative Law
Legal Question
Is an attorney necessary for a claim of over $5000
My husband and I own a general contracting business. We did work for a homeowner that has refused to pay us our final payment due of $5,200. We filed a case against him at the Frederick County district court for the $5,200. We are choosing to not get an attorney. After doing some research I have read articles about self representation. So my question is this... Do we have to have an attorney represent us since the amount we are asking for is $5,200 (which is over $5,000)??? Our company is a single member LLC. The research I have found so far has been confusing. It almost sounds like we have to have an attorney, or drop our amount down to $5,000. But I am not sure, so I want to try to get clarification on this before I run out of time. Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks!
Melissa


