Maryland | Administrative Law
Legal Question
Divorce
I was married when we bought our house, but the house is only in my name. Does this mean that the house is all mines
Divorce
I was married when we bought our house, but the house is only in my name. Does this mean that the house is all mines
|
Read More Answered By: Alton Drew |
Re: Divorce Your spouse can claim that it is marital property and might seek some of the equity. |
|
Read More Answered By: Adele Abrams |
Re: Divorce The titling of a house is not determinative of ownership and, if it was purchased during the marriage from marital funds he will have an equitable interest. If you purchased it using non-marital money (e.g., inherited money) and he did not contribute to any mortgage or fix-up of the house, and you continued to pay any mortgage using non-marital funds, it may be possible to protect it. Equitable interest is not necessarily 50/50, by the way ... it would require an examination of the contributions of each party to the property (monetary and non-monetary). If you need an attorney to represent you in the divorce, we can explain more at the initial consultation. Good luck! |
Mclean, VA
Questions Answered: 2361
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 1946
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Greenbelt, MD
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-07
Morristown, NJ
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-13
Washington, DC
Questions Answered: 155
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Annapolis, MD
Questions Answered: 124
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-06-11
Cumberland, MD
Questions Answered: 103
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-05
Leesburg, VA
Questions Answered: 95
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-20
Potomac, MD
Questions Answered: 88
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-04-21
Washington, Dc, DC
Questions Answered: 79
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-09-25
► Admin law What statue allows a person to appeal a final decision of a federal agency...
► Contractor as a consultant What does the portion starting wiht ''....Should ..........
► Juvenile Administrative Record Sealed? If a juvenile (18 y/o) held a license, say to...
► Meetings Can a council hold a closed meeting regarding the revision of the counties...
► Lease agreements A family emergency is causing me to move out of state but my lease...
► Hand Gun Ownership If you and a conviction 10 years old for theft over $300 And did...
► Power of attorney forms wher can one find power of attorney forms locally?
More Administrative Law questions and answers in Maryland| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press