Maryland | Banking Law
Legal Question
Identity theft issue
I was a victim of identity theft in December, 2001. Money was taken from my checking account twice in two weeks. My bank returned the money both times, but the second time they were very uncooperative with me and did not treat me well. Recently, I was charged with overdrafts that occurred during this theft to my old account (of course, I set up a new one). I was told about two days ago that the amount was charged off and I had nothing to worry about. Today, I received a ''statement'' in the mail that the money was withdrawn from my checking account anyway. I called and was told that even though it was charged off, it could be taken anyway. Why wasn't I informed? Do I have a case? First everthing was ok and now I'm being held responsible for an overdraft caused by someone in Indonesia who stole my identity where the bank gave it to the person as a ''courtesy'' to me. What can I do?


