Maryland  |  Banking Law

question bubble
1/11/06, 12:10 pm

Legal Question


Joint Bank Account

If an individual is married to an illegal alien who is under deportation proceeding, and wishes to have the name removed from the joint bank account. The Alien will not consent removal of the other spouse name from the account. The couple has been separated for over one year, but not legally separated. What advice can you give to the spouse who wishes to have their name removed from the joint account. There is concern that the departing spouse will leave the account in a negative status, and the bank will hold the spouse remaining in the US responsible.

Please advise.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search