Maryland  |  Banking Law

question bubble
3/04/02, 1:35 pm

Legal Question


Limits on Banking Fees

I believe that I heard somewhere that there are limits on the amounts banks can charge for various fees, i.e., overdraft fees, NSF fees, Stop Payment fees, etc. First, is there some law or statute that regulates these fees imposed by banking institutions, and if so, what are the limits? What determines how much a bank can charge for various services or banking infringements? If a bank is overcharging, what can I do? For some reason, I heard that the limit is $25, but I could be dreaming.

Thanks


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search