Legal Question in Bankruptcy in Maryland

automatic stay and child support

My ex just filed for bankruptcy. He pays child support that is garnished from his paychecks. Will the ''automatic stay'' affect the payments I receive?

Asked on 7/30/07, 3:35 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Bill Wood Law Office of William C. Wood, LLC
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: automatic stay and child support

No, domestic support obligations such as child support are not dischargeable in bankruptcy.

Read more
7/30/07, 3:41 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Bankruptcy Law questions and answers in Maryland

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88333 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Bankruptcy Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now