Maryland  |  Bankruptcy

question bubble
10/13/05, 1:03 pm

Legal Question


Avoiding judgement trial

A debt collection attorney has filed suit in district court and is demanding payment in full ($2,020 + $400 in fees) or the trial and legal judgement will go forward. I have been contacted by two debt counseling firms offering (for $200) to negotiate a payoff plan that's ''usually less that the balance due. At least eliminating the attorney fees''

Is this something that I could do on my own? How would I appoach the collector? Is there a standard format for a proposal? Help, please.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search