Maryland  |  Bankruptcy

question bubble
10/26/00, 5:57 pm

Legal Question


Bankruptcy/Attorney Abandonment/1st Trustee Neglect, etc.

Filed Ch 7 Apr99. Meeting of Creditors Aug99. Only one thing pending - equity in home. Appraisal in Jun99. Our original lawyer disappeared and left us to deal with his no longer working spouse. This lawyer responded to Trustee in Dec99-at the time, no equity (after selling/carrying costs). Lawyer told us Trustee said she was most likely going to give up claim to home. Neither the Trustee or our lawyer did anything for 7 months. Now new Trustee. Upswing in property value possible $10-12k. New Trustee wants the current value of home + the funds paid down since filing ($7.5k) + all current and future prepaids that we've made since filing (if we were to leave now, about $2.5k). Is this reasonable and/or legal? Or is he trying to bully us since we don't officially have a lawyer. It's our understanding that value of sales price and equity are "frozen" at the time of filing, not a year and a half later. Trustee has taken absolutely no liability or responsibility for the home since the case began. We pay the mortgage and all bills associated with the property. Also, Trustee states that we'll owe him rent at fair market value (even though we paid the mortgage & maintenance fees) for the last 14 or so months.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search