Maryland  |  Bankruptcy

question bubble
1/13/05, 10:49 am

Legal Question


Mother Considering Filing Bankruptcy

My mother (age 67) has been contacted by an attorney for a credit card company that she owes $5000. A payment has not been made in 4 years. She receives $150/mo. social security. They said they will place a lien against her, as well as criminal charges. Can she be thrown in jail for this? Should she file bankruptcy. She is married, has no money in the bank, does not own any property, does not work.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search