Maryland  |  Bankruptcy

question bubble
10/15/02, 12:33 pm

Legal Question


Repossession after bankruptcy

I am a co-signer on a car loan. The person who was buying the car filed for bankruptcy and that has been discharged. The credit company had not informed me or the buyer that the car was being repossessed after the discharge. Car payments were four months in the rear. In order to get the car back, they are asking for five payments plus towing charge. I, as the co-signer was never given the opportunity to make the payments before repossession. I would like to know if I can take over the payments on the car and get it from impound without paying the full amount the company is requesting. As a co-signer, should I have been given the opportunity to take the payments before repossession.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search