Maryland | Bankruptcy
3/19/04, 7:59 pm
Legal Question
times
how many times can you file banksuptcy?
|
Read More Answered By: G. Joseph Holthaus III |
Re: times You cannot file for Chapter 7 bankruptcy if you received a Chapter 7 or Chapter 13 discharge within the previous six years (unless you paid off at least 70% of your unsecured debts in a Chapter 13 bankruptcy). On the other hand, you can file for Chapter 13 bankruptcy at any time.
Holthaus Law Office (410) 799-9002 |
|
Read More Answered By: Carolyn Gilden Krohn |
Re: times The Bankruptcy Court/Trustee's Office is watchful of "seriel filers". The bankruptcy process is available for those who really need it - not those who abuse it. A chapter 7 can be filed after the expiration of six years. However, if one files more than twice after the expiration of six years, the debtor may well be flagged as a seriel filer. The same for a Chapter 13. While they can be filed almost any time (unless it has been previously involuntarily dismissed, in which case you must wait six months), if a person continually files them to stop auctions, or to stop other legal action, but then does not follow through with the 13, they may be labeled a seriel filer, as well.
All bankruptcy filings must be in good faith. If they are not filed in good faith the debtor risks dismissal or worse, even sanctions, for a bad-faith filing.
Carolyn G. Krohn |
Mclean, VA
Questions Answered: 2361
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 1946
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 403
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-25
Greenbelt, MD
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-07
Morristown, NJ
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-13
Frederick, MD
Questions Answered: 258
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-05-12
Rockville, MD
Questions Answered: 124
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-05-15
Annapolis, MD
Questions Answered: 124
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-06-11
Burke, VA
Questions Answered: 107
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-01
Cumberland, MD
Questions Answered: 103
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-05
► Selling home My husband and I were in bad financial situation, we have four young...
► Keeping Auto Insurance on Surrendered Vehicles My bankruptcy has been discharged and...
► College Grad Seeks Employment I'm a recent college grad (w/honors) in the criminal...
► Confidentialty After someone files bankruptcy and all the legal proceedings are...
► Car bankrutcy with a co-signer A nineteen year old and his step-Mother buy a...
► Car If I claim bankruptcy will I be able to keep my car that i am still paying on?
► Stopping bankruptcy on a home My husband and I started procedures on bankruptcy...
More Bankruptcy Law questions and answers in Maryland| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press