Maryland | Business Law
Legal Question
Business Ownership Disception
Ok here is the situation, I went into a business deal with the goal of being part owner of a barbershop. Prior to me investing any money, I wanted to know the financil background of the business. Although the bisness was in the rears for three months, I still decided to become part owner. I paid $25,000 as the initial investment. Shortly after I gave the money, the owner had a change of plans, he no longer wanted me as an co-owner. He change the locks, prevented me access from the accounting books.
Do I have a legal leg to stand on to get my money back? After I asked for my money back, his argument is that I gave him the money as an investment to do whatever he wanted to do with the money. Not the case at all. I put that money towards the business that I had interest and part ownership in.
Because I am not as business savvey as he, I feel as though he toke advantage of me, and stole my money. He lead me on for the first three week. He order my business cards with the title of Co-Business Owner, I had the management keys to the office, and the shop.
I just want my money back...what do I need to do ...how do I fight this in court.


