Maryland  |  Business Law

question bubble
2/07/07, 6:01 pm

Legal Question


Cafe deposit

I am interested in purchasing a coffee house. The current owner and I met this afternoon. I requested to review his financial records before I make any decisions. He will disclose all his records only after I deposit a check for ten thousand dollars into an escrow account. He said that my attorney can draw up the letter of intent to go along with the deposit and that my attorney can even hold the escrow money. My question is not about losing the escrow money, my question is – Is this a normal procedure for accessing financial record from prospective companies? PS, I don’t have an attorney yet.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search