Maryland  |  Business Law

question bubble
2/22/05, 8:26 pm

Legal Question


Contractor charging for ''extras'' at the completion of work

I hired a contractor to do some work in our home. Time to complete was 4 days. Once he started work, I asked him for an estimate for additional work. A change addendum was then presented. It included the estimate for the additional work, but also included extra material charges. I signed off. This change added 3 days to the schedule. Four days after the revised completion date, the contractor gives me a change addendum, charging for labor costs that he underestimated (original est. 150 hrs. vs. 340 hrs), and difficulties he had with the project. These extra charges add up to $1100. He is awaiting final payment. I haven't signed this last addendum.

At no time was there any estimate of hours given until the the last full day of the project. I was given estimates based on the project, not time. It's the contractor's responsibility to accurately estimate the project. An overrun of 226% is unacceptable in my opinion. Additionally, he didn't mention anything about labor overrages or project difficulties at the time they were happening. Am I obligated to pay these ''extra'' unapproved charges?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search