Maryland  |  Business Law

question bubble
8/17/02, 12:35 pm

Legal Question


If a Corporation Does Not Exist Because of Delinquent

A company forfeited its corporate status in October 2001

because of delinquent taxes. According to the State of

Maryland, ''its existence has been ended by the State

for some delinquency.''

A subcontracting company signs an agreement with this

''company'' in January 2002, not knowing about its status

according to the State of Maryland. This agreement covers

nondisclosure, confidentiality, noncompetition, that legal

proceedings must occur in Maryland, and that legal fees

must be paid by the subcontracting company to cover

everything that is delineated in that contract.

This contract was signed by the officer of a corporation

that does not exist according to the State of Maryland.

Is this contract valid and legally binding? If not,

is there a special term for where this contract stands,

like ''voided''?

Thank you for your help.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search