Maryland | Business Law
Legal Question
Debt collection practices
We are having difficulty with a debt-collector. What
protection does Maryland offer that is greater than
the Federal?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Thomas McCarthy, Sr. |
Re: Debt collection practices Your basic protections are contained in the Federal Fair Debt Collection Practices Act. Maryland law provides no special protestion over federal law, and federal law allows you to sue for damages in the event of a violation of the FDCPA. (limited to $1000 per proceeding. You can make the creditor jump through all the hoops, but if the creditor is persistent, he can get and enforce a judgment against you if he can prove that you owe the debt. You may consider using an attorney to negotiate a settlement. Regards, Tom McCarthy, Sr. |
Top Attorneys in MD
Wagshal and Sher
Bethesda, MD
Questions Answered: 3886
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Chung & Press, P.C.
Mclean, VA
Questions Answered: 2361
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Law Offices of G. Joseph Holthaus
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 1946
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Attorney at Law
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1010
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
Paula McGill Attorney at Law
Bethesda, MD
Questions Answered: 577
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Arden Law Firm
Crownsville, MD
Questions Answered: 428
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Joseph, Greenwald & Laake, P.A.
Greenbelt, MD
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-07
Alan S. Albin, Attorney at Law
Morristown, NJ
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-13
Law Office of Denese Dominguez, LLC
Severn, MD
Questions Answered: 128
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-04-17
Uptown Law, LLC
Rockville, MD
Questions Answered: 124
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-05-15
Search Questions and Answers


