Maryland | Business Law
Legal Question
lock changing on commercial property
When can a landlord change your locks in a commercial business?
Legal Answers
|
Read More Answered By: Lawrence Holzman |
Re: lock changing on commercial property In general, presuming that there is a valid lease in force between a landlord and a tenant, a landlord should first obtain the assistance of a court in order to retake possession of the rented premises. Having said that, there are some circumstances under which it would make sense for a landlord to take possession of property by changing the locks even without an order from the court.
Whether the general rule applies, or whether an exception to the rule applies for your particular circumstances would depend entirely upon the facts of the case. Please feel free to give me a call if you would like to go over your facts to determine applicability of the law to your precise facts.
Lawrence R. Holzman, Esquire Joseph, Greenwald & Laake, P.A. 6404 Ivy Lane, Suite 400 Greenbelt, MD 20770 (301) 220-2200 fax (301) 220-1214
Disclaimer: Please note that the posting of this response is not intended to constitute legal advice. You should contact an attorney to obtain information applicable to your situation. This posting is not confidential or privileged and does not create an attorney/client relationship.
|
|
Read More Answered By: G. Joseph Holthaus III |
Re: lock changing on commercial property Changing the locks is tantamount to eviction and generally requires a court order. Otherwise, the landlord may be subjected to a wrongful eviction action. The terms of your lease may spell out otherwise but self help is disfavored by the Courts and contractual arrangements to this effect are not always upheld. In as much that commercial property is involved, lost business opportunity may be a sustainable claim to damages. The question to ask is, "Why is the lock being changed?"
Disclaimer: This e-mail does not provide legal advice but rather provides information about the law. An attorney-client relationship has not formed as a result of this e-mail and no reliance thereon should be placed by any reader. When facing a legal issue, the best advice is to acquire the service of an attorney. All information in this e-mail is non-privileged and non-confidential.
I am available at (410) 799-9002 |
Top Attorneys in MD
Wagshal and Sher
Bethesda, MD
Questions Answered: 3886
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Chung & Press, P.C.
Mclean, VA
Questions Answered: 2361
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Law Offices of G. Joseph Holthaus
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 1946
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Attorney at Law
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1010
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
Paula McGill Attorney at Law
Bethesda, MD
Questions Answered: 577
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Arden Law Firm
Crownsville, MD
Questions Answered: 428
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Joseph, Greenwald & Laake, P.A.
Greenbelt, MD
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-07
Alan S. Albin, Attorney at Law
Morristown, NJ
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-13
Law Office of Denese Dominguez, LLC
Severn, MD
Questions Answered: 128
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-04-17
Uptown Law, LLC
Rockville, MD
Questions Answered: 124
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-05-15
Search Questions and Answers


