Maryland | Business Law
Legal Question
Payment of commissions
I left employment with a company with an outstanding balance of commissions due to be paid to me. The balance owed is for jobs that were completed and or contracted by my hand and is greater than $11,000. I have submitted copies of the commission statements to the former employer and he is ignoring them. I terminated my employment over 7 weeks ago and some of the commissions date over 11 weeks ago. I attached a letter requesting expeditious payment of the balance owed along with the statements. The employer has made it a regular practice ot pay commission balances when he pleases and as a result 3 other employees have left the company for that reason. I was the manager of the company and drove a company truck which I provided the fuel for. I was told that I would receive a fuel card, but it never happened. I explained to the employer that I could no longer afford to work for him because he did not pay my commissions nor was he compensating me for the fuel in his vehicle. He has made comments to his current employees that he has no intentions of paying me the money he owes me. What should I or can I do to make sure that I am paid the money that the company owes me?


