Maryland | Business Law
Legal Question
Purchase of for-profit corporation by nonprofit
Can a nonprofit corporation buy the stock of a for-profit corporation (as opposed to the assets)?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Steven Rinaldi |
Re: Purchase of for-profit corporation by nonprofit Yes. However, the not for profit cannot engage in any activities, which that non profit may not engage in under federal tax laws. Rather all of those actives must be placed in the for profit entity. The for profit entity must have its own seperate books and records. If the non profit provides any services to the for profit, the reimbursement for such services must be at an arms length price. All services provided by the non profit to the for profit must be documented in a written agreement.
|
Top Attorneys in MD
Wagshal and Sher
Bethesda, MD
Questions Answered: 3886
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Chung & Press, P.C.
Mclean, VA
Questions Answered: 2361
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Law Offices of G. Joseph Holthaus
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 1946
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Attorney at Law
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1010
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
Paula McGill Attorney at Law
Bethesda, MD
Questions Answered: 577
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Arden Law Firm
Crownsville, MD
Questions Answered: 428
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Joseph, Greenwald & Laake, P.A.
Greenbelt, MD
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-07
Alan S. Albin, Attorney at Law
Morristown, NJ
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-13
Law Office of Denese Dominguez, LLC
Severn, MD
Questions Answered: 128
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-04-17
Uptown Law, LLC
Rockville, MD
Questions Answered: 124
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-05-15
Search Questions and Answers


