Maryland | Business Law
Legal Question
Working for a ghost
Monday night I answered an ad on the web for tech help from a bogus company. The contact on the phone had me email him a pic to create an ID and told me to report to a big Finacial institution downtown to do asset counts the next day. I show up 8am yesterday , met with an unkown contractor who handed me the photoshoped/scotch taped ID and said he was a friend of the guy on the phone. I do 12 hours labor and at the end of the day I call original contact about paperwork and so forth.....no answer all day from him and supposed company phone# till midnight last night .He says he'll ride with the guy who handed me the id and meet with me today first thing in the morning at the site to clear up any questions.Today I show up, the guy is a no show so I talk to the other techs and they never heard of my supposed company or contacts. The guy who handed me the phony id couldn't answer any of my questions. The one point man who actually works for the institution told me he never heard of the my company or the guy that hired me. I feel my time was wasted and have no one to speak to about it.What can I do?


