Maryland  |  Civil Rights Law

question bubble
12/17/07, 3:33 pm

Legal Question


HIV discrimination

I was diagnosed as HIV positive, had told a coworker, and after my coworker was terminated the information got back to the store owner. One night my owner confronted me about the issue telling me he believes it is impacting my work performance, telling me he NEEDS to know if its for sure and that I have to get multiple tests, and also outright calling me confused and a liar. Two days later he has a similar conversation about it with the store manager in which he recaps the subjects above and goes as far as to say ''I won't shake his hand if it was covered in blood,'' and ''I would never share the same toothbrush with the guy!''

This is unacceptable commentary and behavior and I feel like my job is in jepoardy and I'm being harassed over what I consider to be a non-issue. Do I have any legal rights?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search