Maryland  |  Civil Rights Law

question bubble
11/13/06, 2:58 am

Legal Question


right to refuse service

i was recently fired from a position as

an instructor at a gym because 2

employees felt i showed a ''pattern of

behavior'' that might become a liability

to the company. they felt that i was too

friendly with some of the younger girls

(under 18) and they feel i am unable to

see the line between what is

appropriate and what is not.

no complaint was ever filed or brought

up by any members or users of the

facility, including any of the girls i dealt

with or their parents. there was simply

a fear that an issue might arise and the

company would be liable.

upon firing me, i was also told that i

was not to ever return to any of their

facilities. when i have tried to contact

my former supervisor to find out the

reasoning, the only reply i have received

is ''it is unfortunate that you do not see

why letting you use our facility is

inappropriate.'' can they legally refuse

me the right to use their facilities as a

paying customer, especially without

explaination? thanks.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search