Maryland | Constitutional Law
Legal Question
Difference Between Laws and Acts
What is the difference between a law and an act?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Lawrence Holzman |
Re: Difference Between Laws and Acts What we recognize as the "Law" is derived from two basic sources: (a) "common law", which is developed based on the principal of "precedents". Courts hear cases and when they make decisions on certain issues those decisionsy can be binding on later cases that have similar issues;
(b) statutory law: the second source of law is when a legislative body such as congress passes a law. Such statutory law is enacted as "Acts" -- it's called that because such law is derived from an "act" of the legislative body.
So, to answer your question: 1. "Acts" ARE Statutes --- that is, they are laws made by congress. 2. "Law" in general includes both common law and statutes.
Lawrence R. Holzman, Esquire Joseph, Greenwald & Laake, P.A. 6404 Ivy Lane, Suite 400 Greenbelt, MD 20770 (301) 220-2200 fax (301) 220-1214
Disclaimer: Please note that the posting of this response is not intended to constitute legal advice. You should contact an attorney to obtain information applicable to your situation. This posting is not confidential or privileged and does not create an attorney/client relationship.
|
Top Attorneys in MD
Law Offices of G. Joseph Holthaus
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 1946
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Attorney at Law
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1010
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
Paula McGill Attorney at Law
Bethesda, MD
Questions Answered: 577
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Arden Law Firm
Crownsville, MD
Questions Answered: 428
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Joseph, Greenwald & Laake, P.A.
Greenbelt, MD
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-07
Alan S. Albin, Attorney at Law
Morristown, NJ
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-13
Chung & Press, P.C.
Cumberland, MD
Questions Answered: 103
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-05
Dunlap, Grubb & Weaver, PLLC
Leesburg, VA
Questions Answered: 95
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-20
Law Office of Constance Camus
Pasadena, MD
Questions Answered: 28
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-10-27
Law Offices of Terry J. Harris
Baltimore, MD
Questions Answered: 26
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-09-30
Search Questions and Answers


